by Datacenter Dynamics staff

DCProfessional Development, the performance division of DatacenterDynamics that provides training courses and certification, has been endorsed by the American Institute of Architects (AIA).

As of 22 May, 2013, DCProfessional Development is an approved AIA training provider, with all applicable courses approved on June 10, 2013.

George Rockett, managing director of DCProfessional Development, said, “Becoming an AIA Continuing Education System-approved provider is an important endorsement for both DCProfessional Development and our students. We're seeing more and more architects in our classroom and online courses and being able to offer them valuable continuing education credits demonstrates our acknowledgment of the critical skill set they bring to the data center industry.”

AIA members are required to complete 18 learning unit (LU) hours of continuing education per year for membership renewal. Of those 18 LU hours, at least 12 hours must be on health, safety and welfare topics, and the remaining six hours are on a wide range of general topics.

DCProfessional Development courses are on par with this requirement, including its two health, safety and welfare-based courses that include: Energy Efficiency Best Practice and Energy Cost Manager and Data Center Efficiency (one of DCProfessional Development's 16 online modules).

Before receiving its official registration by the AIA, DCProfessional Development worked to ensure that the content of its courses was suitable for both architects and engineers. All courses were duly approved by the AIA, and include:

  •  Datacenter Design Awareness
  •  Energy Efficiency Best Practice
  •  Data Center Cooling professional
  •  Data Center Power Professional
  •  Critical Operations Professional
  •  Energy and Cost Manager

For more information on each course, visit:

For all 16 online course modules, visit

DCProfessional Development is able to offer 1 learning unit per each hour. For example, completing all six classroom courses, the student will get a total of 35 learning units (LU).

For more information on DCProfessional Development, visit