MILPITAS, Calif. — Virtual Power Systems (VPS) announced that current board director William Clough accepted the role of chairman of the board to oversee the company’s next stage of development. Clough succeeds Shankar Ramamurthy, who will remain on the board.

“It was a great honor to lead the board through our product development journey,” said Ramamurthy. “Now, with Bill’s global corporate leadership experience across multiple customer and market segments, we are positioning ourselves to address the next levels of growth.”

“Our Software Defined Power [SDP] platform is transforming how data centers and cloud providers provision, manage, and utilize power capacity,” said Steve Houck, CEO of Virtual Power Systems. “As we move forward, Bill’s corporate and vast energy expertise will be invaluable to help guide us through the next phases of accelerated adoption of our technology.”

Clough is executive chairman, president, and chief legal officer of CUI Global Inc. and brings a broad portfolio of experience in capital markets, corporate law, and governance as an attorney and former law enforcement officer. In addition, Clough has an extensive history in the energy sector and has led several strategic initiatives including technology that allow for the real-time analysis of the energy content of natural gas.

“VPS’ Software Defined Power helps data centers lower their energy consumption and carbon footprint while meeting the insatiable demand for more data access,” said Clough. “SDP brings intelligence and resilience to data center power infrastructures not seen before, and I’m excited to continue to work with Steve and his team to take VPS to the next level of product adoption and success.”

In addition to Clough, VPS’ distinguished board members include the company’s CEO Steve Houck and founder Shankar Ramamurthy; Dean Nelson, chairman and founder of Infrastructure Masons; Peter Gross, vice president of Bloom Energy; and Rajeev Madhavan, former CEO for Magma Design and GP Clear. The board advisor is Abhi Talwalkar, former president and CEO of LSI Corp.